The oldest award for children’s literature in Croatia is the Grigor Vitez award and it was held on 11th March 2015 at Zagreb Puppet Theatre. The organizer was Union of Societies Our Children Croatia.

The committee reviewed 51 books that applied for the award by 22 different publishers. We want to thank everyone for their persistence, love and creativity invested in books for children and youth.

This year’s winner of Grigor Vitez award for best text is Igor Knižek and his book “Moj pustolovni planet” (My adventurous planet).

Grigor Vitez_2014_046

This year’s winner of Grigor Vitez award for best illustration is Marsela Hajdinjak for illustrating books “Maca Papučarica” and “Djevojčica s šibicama” (The Little Match Girl).

Grigor Vitez_2014_058

Special commendation was given to Ivan Vitez – he won the award “Zlatna ptica” (Golden bird) for top creative achievements and for placing the highest value in illustrated books and books for children.


Grigor Vitez_2014_066

The committee also gave special commendations to publishers, editors and authors for quality children books.  For 2014, commendations were given to: Zvjezdana Čagalj for her book “Trun iz žepa”; Mozaik knjiga d.o.o. and editor Zoran Maljković for publishing and editing books “Djevojčica sa šibicama“ (The Little Match Girl ) by H. C. Andersena and  „Maca Papučarica“ by E. Peroci; Alfa d.o.o.and editor Božidar Prosenjak for editing and publishing books for children and youth.

Grigor Vitez_2014_071

Special thanks to award presenter Ksenija Rožman and her helpers Lana Korajlija, Sara Ivančan i Kjara Vukoja, all the performers (Music school Dugo Selo, pupils from elementary school Grigor Vitez, pupils from elementary school Remete).

Also, big thanks to Zagreb Puppet Theatre for hosting the award, our sponsors – Ministry of culture, Ministry of science, education and sports, City of Zagreb, restaurant and pastry Ivica and Marica,  pastry shop Andrić, pastry shop Vincek and pastry shop Paprenjak, media representatives and guests.

We look forward to see you all next year.

Photographs by: Mirko Cvjetko